Geoff Levy AO


Geoff has significant experience in law, banking and investing, and is regarded as an expert in mergers and acquisitions, capital raisings and general corporate commercial law.

In addition to his role as Chairman of Monash Private Capital, he is currently non-executive Chairman of ASX listed companies Specialty Fashion Group Limited and Cromwell Property Group Limited.  Geoff was CEO and then Executive Chairman of Investec Bank (Australia) Limited from 2001 – 2008, where he retired and became the non-executive Deputy Chairman until March 2014. Geoff previously held a number of non-executive directorships of ASX listed companies including, Mirvac Limited, Channel Ten, Rebel Sports Limited, Freedom Furniture Limited, Hoyts Limited and STW Limited.

Prior to Investec Bank, Geoff was a principal of Wentworth Associates, a boutique investment and advisory firm acquired by Investec Bank in 2001, and was formerly a partner of Freehills Holingdale and Page (now known as Herbert Smith Freehills, Law Firm).

Geoff has previously held positions in State and Federal Government organisations including being the initial Deputy Chairman of the Australian Sport Anti-Doping authority (ASADA), Chairman of Film Finance Corporation Australia Limited, Chairman of the NSW Government Property Asset Utilisation Taskforce, Chair of the selection panel for the Australian Film Licenced Investment Company Scheme amongst others, and Chair of the NSW Attorney Review into the Public Purpose Fund.

He was appointed by the Australian Olympic Committee to be the Attaché to the South African Olympic Team at the 2000 Olympic Games. He has also been involved in several Not for Profit and Philanthropic organisations.

Geoff was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2005 for his significant contribution to Sports, the Arts and Philanthropy.

He holds a Bachelor of Law from the University of New South Wales, a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Witwatersrand, a diploma from the Securities Institute of Australia, is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Senior Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australia.